Help me to start CDC for Standard edition

Nov 24, 2012 at 9:07 AM

I am new to this Standard CDC. 

could you provide a user guide or steps to configure and start CDC in standard edition.

Thanks in advance.

Coordinator
Nov 24, 2012 at 12:24 PM

The steps to implement are the same as the actual CDC feature in SQL Server.  For this particular project you will need to create the split array function first, or update the code to leverage an existing split stored procedure or function.

High-level steps:

1. Execute ImplementSplitArray.sql
  2. Execute sp_StandardCDC_cleanup_table.sql
  3. Execute sp_StandardCDC_enable_db.sql
  4. Execute sp_StandardCDC_enable_table.sql

The stored procedures are well commented, so you review first to get a full understanding of what you are enabling.

Nov 27, 2012 at 3:57 AM

Thank you so much. now i am able to audit for a table.

I have one more doubt on this.

Ex:
I have a employee table and designation as follows 
A,B,C,D.

i want to track only designation of A,B alone. is there any way to do audit.

whether i need to change " sp_StandardCDC_enable_table " or any other conditions i have to include while executing " EXEC sp_StandardCDC_enable_table ".

could you plz suggest me.

Thanks in Advance.

Nov 27, 2012 at 5:17 PM

HI there,

If I understand you correctly, I have done this as I have common auditing columns on most users tables to track other data. As these columns all have the same name between tables eg createdBy, dateCreated, I can hard-code the SCDC enable table proc to ignore them when creating the SCDC trigger. This means no additional run-time overhead 

If this isn't a good fit, if your column names you wish to exclude vary between one table to another for instance, another way would be to add a bit column to the SCDC table that tracks the audited table schemas and amend the trigger code to filter on that, which means another lookup overhead.